Posted on

MSU Girls Engineering Day Camp

Three of our students attended an engineering day camp geared for girls at MSU this past Saturday.  All three of them loved their experience and have shares their highlights below.

Brynn Sremba, Grade 5, wanted you to know the following:

We used university classrooms — and it was cool and interesting to be in this setting.  They had lots of interesting displays set up on all the tables.

There were many engineering activities for us to try out.  My favorite activity was making a marshmallow launcher. They gave us a few ideas of how to design the launcher, but then my peer and I had to problem solve the design and construction of the launcher. This was my favorite because it was really fun and a way to meet new people.
The most interesting engineering activity involved  working with light. We did an experiment/observation with materials that caused a rainbow effect.  I found this interesting and I would like to investigate this deeper at some point.
I would like to encourage other girls to go to an event like this. I believe it might get girls more involved in engineering. They made it fun to learn.

Rory Krusniak and Gianna Freytag, Grade 4 worked with Mrs. Estefan to create an ANIMOTO video about the highlights of their day below.  Watch the school blog and Mrs. Totten’s STEAM STUDIO blog for future opportunities like this.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email